History created! 9 Supreme Court Judges take oath in one time

New Delhi: Nine new Supreme Court judges, including three women, were administered their oaths of office by Chief Justice NV Ramana on Tuesday morning. This is the first time in the history of India’s highest court that nine judges have been sworn in at one time.

The ceremony was held in the court complex’s auditorium building to ensure social distancing and adherence to Covid protocols; traditionally it is administered in the chief justice’s court room. The new judges include Justice Abhay Oka (former Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court),

Justice Vikram Nath (former Chief Justice of Gujarat High Court), Justice Jitendra Kumar Maheshwari (former Chief Justice of Sikkim and Andhra Pradesh High Courts) and Justice Hima Kohli (former Chief Justice of Telangana High Court). Justice BV Nagarathna (former Karnataka High Court judge) was also sworn in.

The daughter of former Chief Justice ES Venkataramiah, Justice Nagarathna will become India’s first woman chief justice in 2027. However, she is likely to have a tenure of only one month. The other new judges are Justice CT Ravikumar (former Kerala High Court judge), Justice MM Sundresh (former Madras High Court judge), Justice Bela M Trivedi (former Gujarat High Court judge) and Justice PS Narasimha (senior advocate and former Additional Solicitor General).

Also Read: Karnataka mandates one-week quarantine for people entering from this state

With the addition of these nine judges the strength of the Supreme Court stands at 33, including the Chief Justice, out of a sanctioned strength of 34.

Also Read: Udupi: Young man died at hospital who attempted to commit suicide after killing his girlfriend

Comments are closed.