Punjab Kings start with new captain after top player injured for IPL 2023

Punjab Kings start with new captain after top player injured Jonny Bairstow IPL 2023

Image credit – Twitter

Punjab Kings will face Kolkata Knight Riders on April 1 in Mahali for IPL 2023 season first match. In recent development Punjab Kings start with new captain after top player injured. Punjab Kings on Monday announced that the uncapped Australian all-rounder Matthew Short would replace Jonny Bairstow.

The England wicket-keeper batter Jonny Bairstow is ruled out of Indian Premier League 2023 as he is yet to fully recover from an injury he sustained in September. This will be Short’s maiden IPL season. The opening batter was adjudged the Player of the Tournament in the recent edition of the Big Bash League for scoring 458 runs and taking 11 wickets with his off-spin.

The Australian has been signed for his base price of INR 20 lakh. Fast bowler Sandeep Sharma will represent Rajasthan Royals this season after being signed as a replacement for Prasidh Krishna. Picked for his base price of INR 50 lakh, Sandeep is one of the most senior bowlers in the tournament with over 100 wickets and 10 seasons of experience under his belt.

For starters, they have a new captain in Shikhar Dhawan, who has replaced Mayank Agarwal. Dhawan was bought at the 2022 auction and was Kings’ top-scorer last season with 460 runs in 14 innings. Kings went into the 2023 auction with the second-largest purse of INR 32.2 crore and spent more than half of that on Sam Curran, making him the most expensive buy at an IPL auction.

They also acquired Sikandar Raza for INR 50 lakh as back-up for Liam Livingstone. Punjab’s backroom staff has also undergone a complete overhaul. They brought in Trevor Bayliss as head coach in place of Anil Kumble, reappointed Wasim Jaffer as batting coach, brought in Sunil Joshi as the spin-bowling coach, and Charl Langeveldt as bowling coach. Brad Haddin was named assistant coach.

IPL 2023 Punjab Kings: Full schedule

Match 1: April 1, Punjab Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders, Mohali, 3:30 PM IST

Match 2: April 5, Rajasthan Royal;s vs Punjab Kings, Guwahati, 7:30 PM IST

Match 3: April 9, Punjab Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Hyderabad, 7:30 PM IST

Match 4: April 13, Punjab Kings vs Gujarat Titans, Mohali, 7:30 PM IST

Match 5: April 15, Lucknow Super Giants vs Punjab Kings, Lucknow, 7:30 PM IST

Match 6: April 20, Punjab Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, Mohali, 3:30 PM IST

Match 7: April 22, Mumbai Indians vs Punjab Kings, Mumbai, 7:30 PM IST

Match 8: April 28, Punjab Kings vs Lucknow Super Giants, Mohali, 7:30 PM IST

Also Read: BCCI announced contracts list: KL Rahul down, Rahane, Bhuvneshwar out

Match 9: April 30, Chennai Super Kings vs Punjab Kings, Chennai, 3:30 PM IST

Match 10: May 3, Punjab Kings vs Mumbai Indians, Mohali, 7:30 PM IST

Match 11: May 8 ,Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings, Kolkata, 7:30 PM IST

Match 12: May 13, Delhi Capitals vs Punjab Kings, Delhi, 7:30 PM IST

Match 13: May 17, Punjab Kings vs Delhi Capitals, Dharamsala, 7:30 PM IST

Match 14: May 19, Punjab Kings vs Rajasthan Royals, Dharamsala, 7:30 PM IST.

For up-to-the-minute information follow News Next on Facebook Page
For important News/Information follow News Next on : JIO NEWS | Koo App
For variety of news follow News Next onTwitter page

Read Previous

IPL 2023: Nitish Rana appointed as KKR Captain inplace of Shreyas Iyer

Read Next

Prakash Raj announces Appu Express Ambulance Services: Suriya, Chiranjeevi, Yash join him

Most Popular