KKR captain Shreyas Iyer out from IPL 2023

Kolkata Knight Riders KKR captain Shreyas Iyer out from IPL 2023

Kolkata Knight Riders captain Shreyas Iyer – image credit – BCCI / IPL

The season of nail-bitters, thrillers, super overs and endless entertainment is here. The 16th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is just a few sleeps away from now. The marquee tournament will kick start with a blockbuster clash between Gujarat Titans and Chennai Super Kings at the Narendra Modi International Stadium on Friday (31st March). In a major IPL updates Kolkata Knight Riders KKR captain Shreyas Iyer out from IPL 2023.

Indian middle-order batter and KKR captain Shreyas Iyer, who was ruled out of the ongoing three-match ODI series between India and Australia, is likely to be out of action for at least the next four to five months. According to a report in Time of India, the 28-year-old right-handed batter is set to undergo surgery to treat his recurring lower back injury issue.

If he goes under the knife, then he will not be available for the entire IPL 2023 and will also miss the World Test Championship final between India and Australia that will take place at the Oval from June 7 to 11. His absence will be a big blow to two-time IPL champions Kolkata Knight Riders, as Shreyas is their captain and a key player in the XI.

He was signed for Rs 12.25 crore in the mega auction that took place last year, and the former Delhi Capitals skipper lived up to the billing by finishing the season as the leading run getter for Shah Rukh Khan’s side.

KKR brought the likes of N Jagadeesan, Vaibhav Arora, David Wiese, Kulwant Khejroliya, Suyash Sharma, Litton Das, Mandeep Singh and Shakib Al Hasan in the IPL 2023 auction. Apart from this, they traded Rahmanullah Gurbaj and Shardul Thakur.

Also Read: The Sports School won 14-year-old BTR Championship

Also Read: India vs Australia Final: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli will create Historic World Record

Shreyas Iyer, Rahmanullah Gurbaj (Traded), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nitish Rana, Anukul Roy, Venkatesh Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Umesh Yadav, Varun Chakraborty, Harshit Rana, Shardul Thakur (Traded), N Jagadeesan, Vaibhav Arora.

For up-to-the-minute information follow News Next on Facebook Page
For important News/Information follow News Next on : JIO NEWS | Koo App
For variety of news follow News Next onTwitter page

Read Previous

IMD issued heavy rainfall alert for these states for next 3 days

Read Next

The Sports School won 14-year-old BTR Championship

Most Popular