Andre Russell captain for KKR in IPL 2023

Andre Russell captain for KKR in IPL 2023

Andre Russell – image credit – BCCI / twitter

The IPL 2023 will start on 31st March 2023 with the opening match between Gujarat Titans and Chennai Super Kings in Ahmedabad at the largest cricket stadium in the world, Narendra Modi Stadium. Andre Russell captain for KKR in IPL 2023.

Star India batter and Kolkata Knight Riders Captain Shreyas Iyer is likely to be ruled out of cricketing action due to a back injury. As per Insidesport, Iyer was forced to withdraw from the ongoing ODI series between India and Australia due to an issue in his lower back. Iyer can also miss out on the World Test Championship final at the Oval in June.

KKR captain Shreyas Iyer might be able to return for the ODI World Cup in India in October or November. IPL 2023 is set to begin on March 31 and Kolkata Knight Riders will have to choose a new captain in the upcoming days.  “Iyer has been advised to go for surgery. He is keen to get operated by a specialist in London, but if there is a decent option in India, then the surgery could take place here also,” the source revealed to Times of India.

Even skipper Rohit Sharma informed that Shreyas Iyer’s scans were not looking good after he informed Iyer was forced to withdraw from the Border Gavaskar Trophy’s fourth Test in Ahmedabad.  Now that Shreyas Iyer is likely to miss the IPL 2023, all-rounder Rinku Singh is likely to lead KKR.

Along with Rinku Singh, all-rounder Sunil Narine, and Andre Russell are also the likely picks for the captaincy role of the Kolkata Knight Riders. Big names like Shakib Al Hasan and Tim Southee are also expected picks of the leadership role of KKR during Iyer’s absence. Some report says may be Russell captain for KKR in IPL 2023.

Also Read: Indian Railways: Train travellers good news here; train rate down from today

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad 2023: Shreyas Iyer, Nitish Rana, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Venkatesh Iyer, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur, Lockie Ferguson, Umesh Yadav, Tim Southee, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakravarthy, Anukul Roy, Rinku Singh, Narayan Jagadeesan, Vaibhav Arora, Suyash Sharma, David Weise, Kulwant Khejrolia, Mandeep Singh, Litton Das, Shakib Al Hasan.

For up-to-the-minute information follow News Next on Facebook Page
For important News/Information follow News Next on : JIO NEWS | Koo App
For variety of news follow News Next onTwitter page

Read Previous

Honda Amaze price hike from April: Check new price and features

Read Next

Heavy Rainfall alert in these states for 5 days from today

Most Popular