Monday, June 14, 2021

DMK president MK Stalin along with 33 others takes oath

Chennai: DMK leader MK Stalin took oath as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu on Friday morning. Governor Banwarilal Purohit administered the oath of office and secrecy to 68-year old Stalin, for whom this would be the first stint as CM, in a simple ceremony at the Raj Bhavan.

Along with the DMK chief, 34 ministers of his party also took oath to be appointed in the state cabinet. The names include 19 former ministers and 15 new faces. It has two women. Stalin’s son Udhayanidhi does not figure in the list of ministers.

AIADMK top leader O Panneerselvam, leaders from alliance parties including Congress’s P Chidambaram, MDMK chief Vaiko and top state officials took part in the ceremony. DMK had fought the elections with its allies and got an absolute majority on its own by bagging 133 seats in the 234-member assembly.  

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles