Wednesday, June 16, 2021

BCCI Announces IPL schedule, Tournament to be played from April 9 to May 30

After nearly two years, the Indian Premier League will return home with Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Mumbai, and Kolkata hosting the marquee event. The season will kickstart on April 9 in Chennai with a high-octane clash between defending champions Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The world’s largest cricket stadium Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will host the playoffs as well as the final on May 30. The newly-built stadium that hosted India’s second pink ball fixture at home last month will host its first-ever IPL. Each team is set to play at four venues during the league stage of IPL 2021.

Out of the 56 league matches, Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata and Bengaluru will host 10 matches each while Ahmedabad and Delhi will host 8 matches each. All the matches this season will be played at neutral venues.

There will be a total of 11 double-headers where six teams will play three afternoon matches and two teams will play two afternoon matches. The afternoon games are slated for a 3:30 PM IST start while the evening games will have a 7:30 PM IST start.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles